Yoga Origins – Yoga Vocabulary from A-Z

• • •

Mind Fuel Daily
Mind Fuel Daily was founded to help readers find inspiration and purpose in every day. We believe that each person is capable of finding his or her best life here, in the present moment, and our mission is to provide the spark that moves you to positive action and thought.

Yoga is a great way to recharge and renew at the start or end of a day. For beginners, however, yoga can seem mystifying – especially when it involves Sanskrit terms and Vedic phrases. So here is a lite version of the deeply spiritual yet approachable history behind some popular yoga words and phrases.

We’re breaking it down letter-by-letter to create a cheat sheet for appreciating yoga’s roots – because stronger the foundation, higher the structure.

This is going to be just like a beginner yoga session – we’ll start with the fundamentals, and work our way forward. Ready? Begin.

A – Abhaya: Sanskrit word meaning “fearless,” or “without fear.”

B – Belly breath: A beginner breathing exercise, using the lower abdominal area.

C – Chakras: Sacred energy centers throughout the human body.

D – Dhyana: Sanskrit word indicating concentration or meditation.

E – Easy breath: Relaxed, natural breathing pattern using mouth and nose.

F – Flow Yoga: The art of moving smoothly between asanas (poses).

G – Guru: Sacred teacher or spiritual guide.

H – Himsa: Harm or violence; the word “ahimsa” means non-violence.

I – Ishwara Pranidhana: Yoga phrase meaning observance or remembrance.

J – Japa: The repetition or mantras, prayers, or sacred sounds.

K – Kundalini: Energy located at the base of the spine; awakens consciousness.

L – Lila: Sanskrit term meaning “play.”

M – Mandalas: Circles representing spiritual centers of the universe.

N – Namaste: Greeting meaning “the divine in me honors the divine in you.”

O – Om: The sound from which all other sounds originate.

P – Padmasana: “Lotus pose” in which each foot rests on opposite thigh.

Q – Quiet: Yoga can be high-volume or deeply intimate, depending on tradition.

R – Rishi: Seer or venerated master – one who is great or wise.

S – Swadisthana: Energy center (chakra) located behind the abdominal wall.

T – Tantric Yoga: Spiritual practice awakening inner unity or oneness.

U – Upaya: Sanskrit phrase indicating “means” or “way.” Implies skill.

V – Vishuddha: Energy center (chakra) located within the throat.

W – Warrior: This variable yoga pose strengthens resolve and inner spirit.

X – Exercise: In yoga, any exercise, pose or practice is called asana.

Y – Yogi: one who has attained yoga, or union of the two bodies.

Z – Zzzz: A high energy yoga session requires peaceful rest afterwards! 

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img


- Advertisement -spot_img

Additional Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img
Mind Fuel Daily


One email a week, that's it!

You have Successfully Subscribed!